North Carolina Fundraising Registration Requirements

North Carolina Fundraising Registration Requirements

North Carolina law requires that charitable organizations and institutions that solicit contributions in or from this state register with the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State. The North Carolina law governing charity registration is found in NCGS Ch. 55A and Ch. 131F.

To register in North Carolina:

Complete the Solicitation License Application and mail to:

      State of North Carolina
      Department of the Secretary of State
      Solicitation Licensing Section
      PO Box 29622
      Raleigh, NC 27626

Initial Filing Fee: Sliding scale fee up to $200

Requirements: Governing Documents and either IRS Form 990 or an Audited Financial Statement

Annual Renewal: Yes

Annual Renewal Fee: Sliding scale fee up to $200

Extension Available: Yes

Does charitable registration require Corporate Registration: No

Does charitable registration require a Registered Agent: No

North Carolina offers Educational, Hospital and Religious Exemptions.

Please contact us if you would like us to complete your registrations for you.