Tennessee Fundraising Registration Requirements

Tennessee Fundraising Registration Requirements

Tennessee law requires that charitable organizations and institutions that solicit contributions in or from this state register with the State of Tennessee Department of State. The Tennessee law governing charity registration is found in TN Code Annotated Sec. 48-51-101 through 48-68-105 and 48-101-501.

To register in Tennessee:

Complete the Form SS6001 – Application for Registration and mail to:

      State of Tennessee
      Department of State
      Division of Charitable Solicitation
      312 Rosa L. Parks Ave., 8th Floor
      Nashville, TN 37243

Initial Filing Fee: $50

Requirements: Governing Documents, IRS Form 990 and Financial Statement

Annual Renewal: Yes

Annual Renewal Fee: Sliding scale fee up to $240

Extension Available: Yes

Does charitable registration require Corporate Registration: No

Does charitable registration require a Registered Agent: No

Tennessee offers Educational and Religious Exemptions.

Please contact us if you would like us to complete your registrations for you.